NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a meeting of the La Farge Village Board will be held on Monday, February 10, 2020, at 6:30 p.m. at the Emergency Services building, located at 201 S. Cherry Street.          



Call to order/Roll Call   

Verification of Meeting Posting/Publishing

Approval of previous meetings minutes


Public Comment



         1). Regular Utility Business;



               1).  Approval for additional appraisals on the contract with appraiser Gatlin Fenwick

                     for the FEMA buyout process;      



               1).   Action on a resolution authorizing submission of a Grant application to the DNR

                       for the match money for the FEMA buyout properties;     

               2).   Action on a new business alcohol license application;

               3).   Action on an operator license application;

               4).   Approval to cost share a J-Hook Vane plan design for river access;     

               5).   Discussion of Open Meeting Law Requirements;

               6).   Police report/update;

               7).   Committee reports and updates;

               8).   Approval to Pay the Bills;

               9).   Adjourn.


 Kimberly Walker, Village Clerk/Treasurer

             Posted 2/07/2020  



Regular Board Meeting         Monday, February 10, 2020


*President Cheryl Purvis called the regular meeting of the La Farge Village Board to order at 6:30 p.m. at the Emergency Services building. Roll call was taken with all board members present: Purvis, Barbara Melvin, Frank Quinn, Aaron Appleman, Reggie Nelson, Aaron Nemec, and Terry Jensen (via phone conference). Also present was news reporter Lonnie Muller, Public Works Manager Wayne Haugrud, Marcy West, and Clerk Kimberly Walker.             


*Verification of meeting publishing in the La Farge Episcope and posting at the Bank, Post Office, and Village Office on February 7, 2020 was given.    


*Quinn moved, Melvin seconded to approve the previous meetings minutes: (1-13-20/Regular board meeting; 1-28-20/Regular Library board meeting; 1-30-20/Planning Grant committee meeting; and 2-5-20/ Planning Commission meeting). (Carried).  


*Correspondence: None.   


*Public Comment: None.      


*Utility business: PWM Wayne Haugrud said he had nothing to report. Things are going well.   


*Old business: Last month, Gatlin Fenwick of Precision Appraisal was approved to appraise 3 properties for the FEMA buyouts. We have since been told by the DNR all properties that will be acquired need to have appraisals. There’s a total of 8 residential properties at $500 each and 1 commercial for $1,500. Quinn moved, Nemec seconded to approve the additional buyout appraisals from Gatlin Fenwick. (Carried).      


*Reviewed a “Resolution to Submit Grant Application - Municipal Flood Control Grant” for authorizing submission of a grant to the DNR for the match money to the FEMA buyout properties. This will help us finance the village 12 ½ % share of the buyouts and reimburse the appraisal costs. Quinn moved, Nemec seconded to authorize this grant application resolution to the DNR. (Carried).    


*Received an Alcohol beverage retail license application from Gabe Williams, for a Class B beer and Class C wine license. He’s in the process of buying Cheryl Haas’s property (located at 120 W. Main Street). Closing is the first week in March. The Twisted Raven Lounge, LLC, will be the name. Appleman moved, Quinn seconded to approve the beer and wine license, contingent upon the sale of the property. (Carried).    


*Melvin moved, Appleman seconded to approve a renewal operator license for Tammy Fitzpatrick. (Carried).


*Marcy West was present to discuss a possible cost share for a J-Hook Vane design for river access. The Planning commission recently talked about this, and upon doing further checking, Marcy said the cost came in 3 times higher than originally expected. She suggested it be tabled for now. She did explain and pass out design pictures of how it works. The group is looking at going from Seelyburg to Hwy 82 at the edge of the village. This is a beautiful stretch of area. The J-Hook Vane creates better access getting in and out of the river as it’s made in the streambank. It’s been found that floating docks get taken out from the flood waters.      

Looking to put one at Organic Valley or Sandmire Park. But Marcy said she’ll do more investigating into it.  


*Cheryl gave an update on open meeting law requirements. A packet of material was given the members to read over and become familiar with, from material obtained from the League of Wisconsin Municipalities website. Social gatherings/community events are not posted. Village business should not be discussed at get-togethers like this. Use of email conversations and texting is an upcoming concern. Emailing to two or 

more constitutes a walking quorum and a violation. For informational purposes, it’s best to send to Kim or bring it up to the full board to be put on the agenda.   


*No Police report/update as Police Chief Brown is at the Wisconsin Chiefs conference in Wisconsin Dells.   


*Committee Reports:    

**Clinic: We may have a new renter in the vacant middle area. Frank is working with someone on this.      

**Library: Barb reported our librarian resigned from her position last Wednesday. She has another job. The board met Saturday and have things covered. Becky Hooker has agreed to be library interim during this process to hire someone new, and we have a couple of people to help sub. Ads for the position went out on the website, Facebook, and are going in the paper.  

**The Main Street Stakeholder and Focus interviews are this week. The first public workshop is this Thursday. There will be 3 more after this. Then a presentation to the board at the April meeting.  


*Quinn moved, Nemec seconded to approve payment of the bills. (Carried).


*Jensen moved, Quinn seconded to adjourn. (Carried). Adjourned at 7:00 p.m.



 Kimberly Walker, Village Clerk/Treasurer